Yamapi’s New Drama “Flowers for Algernon” Starts Airing April 10

Yamapi’s new drama “Flowers For Algernon” is based off of the american novel with the same title by Daniel Keyes.

The live adaption will be set in Japan and is about Shiratori Sakuto (Yamashita Tomohisa), a 28 year old mentally handicapped man with the same IQ as a 6 year old that works at a flower delivery center. He then undergoes surgery that transforms him into a genius. However he starts feeling a gap between his past and present intelligence as he starts seeing everyone as being inferior to him and he experiences the loneliness of being isolated. However the successful surgery that was first conducted on a rat named Algernon, has seen a reversal in his intelligence, and he dies. Sakuto realizes that his intelligence will soon leave him too.

“Algernon ni Hanataba wo” will start airing April 10 on fridays.

It’s been said the Yamapi has watched the two previous movie adaptions and read the english novel to better understand his role. He went to a labor support center for the mentally challenged and ate lunch with them to better prepare for his role.

Check out the trailer below:

I haven’t watched anything from Yamapi in ages. Definitely looking forward to this. When I first heard of the title, it seemed to ring a bell but I still can’t remember what it is. I’m guessing I must have read the novel during school.

I think this drama would bring some sort of enlightenment to me and probably revive some memories of myself reading the book. I don’t know japanese so I have no idea what the trailer is saying, but just by hearing the background music, I think this will be a tearjerker that I am willing to throw myself into.

Does it bring up memories from your high school days from reading the book?

news from jpopasiawiki

trailer from FUCHIKO YAMASHITA

4 thoughts on “Yamapi’s New Drama “Flowers for Algernon” Starts Airing April 10

  1. Pingback: What to Watch this April and May? | DramaDreamLand

  2. should be interesting. I like Yamapi- I don’t think he’s the best actor in the word… but not the worst. I’ve seen the American 1968 movie when I was 10 and loved it and cried. I’ve also seen the Korean drama and it was ok. looking forward to it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

